much love monday: nepalese tea, chia

i learned this from my friend rosha.  she said, ‘we never ask if you want milk or sugar!’  this tea is sweet, milky, and delicious.

bring to a soft boil:

  •  water/milk mix, approx half & half.  i use almond milk and it tastes great.
  • green cardamom pods: 2-3 per cup
  • a cinnamon stick
  • a few pinches of nutmeg
  • 1 – 2 tbsp brown or yellow sugar per cup (but white sugar is ok too)
  • optional: a few cloves, a bit of cinnamon, etc.

when it reaches a boil, add some tea. you can add one bag or tsp of loose tea per cup: orange pekoe/loose leaf darjeeling, assam, whatever.  let it boil for a few minutes, then serve. you can scoop out the cardamom pods and tea bags, or if you used loose leaf you’ll have to pour through a sieve.

 

enjoy!

 

 

4 thoughts on “much love monday: nepalese tea, chia

  1. Oh wow that sounds delicious!! I’ve never used cardamom pods or even heard of yellow sugar but I’m going to look into making this. Yum! I recently went to an amazing spice shop downtown and they sell spiced sugars for use in tea/baking/etc and they smell amazing. Even a peppermint sugar and a lavender one also! While I was there I picked up their handpicked spices for a chai tea that I hear is amazing, I’ll try it, report back and if you like chai I’ll send you some. 🙂

    1. yellow sugar is just like brown sugar, only with less molasses added. spiced sugars sound great, i’ve never used them before! oh my gosh. if you like the tea, it would be fun to do a tea trade with you!

      1. Sure! That would be great 🙂 I just need to find cardamom pods–are they usually in the produce department or something?

Leave a Reply

