portland trip!

well!! since i have been home for a few days now, it seems about time to acquaint you with the particulars of my lovely little jaunt down the coast.

i took the train to portland; it was so much nicer than flying or busing. although flying gets you to a place quickly, airplanes are tightly packed to the point of claustrophobia, security is a joke, and it’s fucking expensive. the train is slow, but has lots of space (even a dining car!), no security hassles, and overall strikes me as a relaxed way to travel if one has the extra time to spare.

portland was a really cute little city! my stay 24 hours so it didn’t get thoroughly explored, but i liked what i saw. my first stop was to a cafe to grab some lunch, and after that i met the WORLD FAMOUS CARTOONIST, erika moen!  she was kind enough to allow me to interrupt her work & hang out at the comic studio for a couple hours.

after that, i wandered the rainy streets of portland and found what i choose to believe is an atheist tree that committed suicide by trying to attack a church.  yes indeed.

good stuff, right?  i then found buffalo exchange and powell’s, which is the biggest bookstore i have ever seen in my life. i got a mild panic attack entering it.  went something like oh sweet baby jesus this is a lot of books how am i going to look at everything there’s so much to choose from i don’t even know what to look at i can’t even touch anything because i want to buy everything oh shit oh shit oh shit

pulled myself out of paradise/hell with a couple reads, a crossword puzzle book, and a little card for my workspace and trudged through the snow (!!!)  to my hostel.   in the morning, much to my surprise & delight, i discovered a trader joe’s nearby!  rapturous, indeed.  i couldn’t buy much but i got a few little snacks.  i proceeded to wind my way toward the vegan mini-mall for my date with destiny (coconut-caramels).

such a change of pace from the snow of the night before! i wandered through miles of sweet old buildings, charmingly industrial areas and cherry blossoms, losing my way and finding it again (with at least a mile of unnecessary walking) before i reached my destination.  i loaded up my pockets with as much candy as they could hold at food fight, bought pins and stickers and a t-shirt at herbivore, then checked in at scapegoat tattoo for my long-awaited second sitting with ryan mason.

i had sent him a tonne of photos and videos for inspiration, and was expecting to see a fist-sized design.  instead, he pulled out a giant, beautiful drawing of a ghost fox in a frame with roses and ghosty-smoke.  i doubted it would all fit on my leg, but to my surprise there was enough room.  i couldn’t wait till it healed to show it to you, and it’s too large to see the whole thing from one angle, but you get the idea…

immediately after the tattoo was finished, i rushed back to the amtrak station to hop the train to seattle, where a sweet friend awaited me!  i was treated to a home-cooked vegan mexican feast that pretty much finished my day on a perfect note.  the next morning, i tasted an 80-year-old fermented tea (sooo subtle, slightly earthy) and wandered in the sunlight before heading back to vancouver.

the driver on my trip back home gave me an immeasurably precious thing–two more terrible jokes to add to my repertoire !  advance apologies to all my friends.  this will not be the last time you hear them.

what do you use to fix a broken pumpkin?

a pumpkin patch!
what does a fish say when it hits a wall?

dam!

groooooooan!

Leave a Reply

