trust30/8: get real!

“Good and bad are but names very readily transferable to that or this; the only right is what is after my constitution, the only wrong what is against it. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

What are your false comparisons? What are your false expectations? What are your false investments in a story?”

my false comparisons:
i’m not worthy to be successful artistically because i’m not as successful as my artist friends marlo lavonne, fiona staples, tanya lam(not to mention countless other creative types who were born in the mid 80s or later!), and we are the same age. they are freelance artists, full-time, and i’m not! i can’t draw as well and maybe my ideas are stupid and and and…

false expectations:
if i’m not making ends meet just by my sewn art alone, i’m not doing it right, my stuff doesn’t look good, no one wants it cause i suck! if i haven’t attracted enormous media attention by now, it’ll never happen. if it never happens, my art won’t even be worth it!

false investments:
no one will ever perceive my work to be real art. it will never get any respect or catch anyone’s eye other than a passing novelty, so why bother? my pins will just become disposable and my framed pieces will look ridiculous! other people who do the same thing do it so much more cleverly…

each of these bullshit ideas keeps me from producing what i want, how i want! they hold me back and tell me not to bother. the critic inside is so wrong. i need to remind myself that these are all false leads.

Leave a Reply

