chocolatey goodness

This is serious comfort food for me. My mom made these a lot when I was growing up. Yes, corn syrup is so bad for you but I love the way these taste, so I’ll keep making them my mom’s way.

puffed wheat squares
1/4 c butter or margarine
3/4 c corn syrup (has to be corn)
1/2 c brown sugar
2 tbsp cocoa
8 c puffed wheat

Combine butter, syrup, sugar & cocoa in a heavy saucepan over medium heat. Bring to a boil for 1 min, stirring often. Add puffed wheat and mix until all wheat is covered. Put into a greased 8×8 pan & press down evenly. Let cool before cutting.

I just knocked out a batch of this stuff in about fifteen minutes, start to finish. Quick desserts are the best! I whipped it together while I was waiting for the pizza dough to proof. I’m rarely coordinated to get dessert done before supper is even half-made, so I kind of feel like a kitchen superstar right now.

Leave a Reply

