spiced shortbread cookies

Yesterday was a baking-mega party! It has been too hot to do much baking so of course I have been dying to do it.

In a rare burst of foresight, I planned fresh-baked muffins for Sunday morning. Instead of having to do all the work in the morning, I pre-mixed the dry ingredients on Saturday night. It worked out really well! I rolled out of bed on Sunday, turned on the oven and before I knew it, I had yummy cinnamon breakfast muffins.

But, my voracious appetite and usual late-evening energy burst pushed me into baking again, after my kitchen had finally cooled down a bit. Of course, turning my oven on just heated it up again, but it was sooooo worth it.

I started getting my usual late-evening energy burst so I decided to whip up something new and I chanced on spiced shortbread cookies, from Anyone Can Cook(one of the best wedding presents we got!)

You only need a few ingredients for the basic version of this recipe, and the spiced version is super-simple too!

shortbread cookies
1 1/4 c flour
3 tbsp sugar
1/2 c butter/margarine

spiced:
use brown sugar instead of granulated, and add 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ground ginger, 1/8 tsp ground cloves to the flour.

1.) Preheat oven to 325F. Stir together dry ingredients. Cut in butter using a pastry blender (one of my favourite kitchen tools!!) until the mix is dry-crumby and starting to cling. Using your hands, shape the dough into a ball and knead until smooth, about 5 minutes.

2.) On a lightly floured surface, roll rough 1/2 inch thick. Cut dough into shapes with a cookie cutter, or roll into a rectangle and cut into strips with a knife.

Place cookies an inch apart on an ungreased cookie sheet and bake 20-25 mins, or until bottoms just start to brown. Cool on a wire rack.

Now that I have shared the recipe, I’m off to eat some more cookies and try to finish my book. I’ve been reading John Adams for almost a month, which used to be unheard of, but Greg has had lots of time off work recently so he’s been home, distracting me. What a jerk!

Leave a Reply

