a big big love: or, oatmeal cookie extravaganza

Today’s creation: oatmeal cookies from this cookbook
Culinarytherapy. It has recipes paired with moods and good movies to watch for same moods, but it’s not vegetarian so a lot of it is useless to me. Anyway, I decided it was about time I worked on one of its desserts, His Mother’s Oatmeal Cookies. I put on Surfer Rosa and got down to it!!

3/4 c margarine
3/4 c firmly packed brown sugar
1/2 c granulated sugar
1/2 c maple syrup
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
3 c rolled oats
1 c flour
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 c raisins, nuts, and/or chocolate chips

1.) Preheat the oven to 350F
2.) Cream the margarine, sugars & syrup in a large bowl. Add the egg, 1/4 c water, vanilla & beat well.
3.) Add the oats, flour, salt, baking soda and cinnamon. Stir to combine. Stir in the raisins or whatever you are adding.
4.) Drop rounded teaspoonfuls of dough onto baking sheets.
5.) Bake for 10-12 mins, until the edges are golden brown. Let cool on wire racks.

I added about a cup of raisins, 1/4 c of chocolate chips and 1/4 c of cranberries. They came out really nice–they are kind of smooshy, melty cookies and the small amounts of cranberries and chocolate give it a nice little bit of flavour.

Today has been pretty productive, despite a slow start. Only a few things are left on my to-do list: do schoolwork, pack a couple boxes to mail to friends, finish email drafts, write Maggie a letter, look at state parks in California to see where I want to visit most, and buy a converter box. I know that is a silly and inane list but I have recently discovered that if I put everything I have to do on a list, even the smallest things get done. Am I the only one so list-crazy? I make lists of everything!

Oh, and I almost forgot! This cookbook is really cute–it has little quotes every few pages. I don’t usually fall for quotes but this one really struck me:

“If it is your time, love will track you down like a cruise missile.” (Lynda Barry)

When I met Greg, things happened so fast I could hardly think, but being with him has been so amazing and fun. I never expected it but I’m so happy we found each other when we did. Here’s a photo from the fashion show last week.
out on the town

2 thoughts on “a big big love: or, oatmeal cookie extravaganza

  1. you look so amazing lately.

    And I hope that someday I can find someone to be with that makes me as happy as Greg makes you.

  2. Thank you! I have been working hard on looking good because I’m tired of feeling like my life is one long awkward stage, haha.

    I hope you can find someone good, too. You so deserve it!

Leave a Reply

