recession food – shepherdess pie

I am into recession food right now, just like everybody else, because I am newly unemployed and Greg is down to 4 work days a week. I made this rad shepherd pie (or shepherdess, as I prefer) this week and at less than $1.50 a serving, I think it counts. All the ingredients are pretty easy to play with. I made it in a 12.5×4 loaf pan and it just fit perfectly, but if you want to put it in a larger or smaller container adjust accordingly.

Shepherdess Pie!
2 medium potatoes
3/4 can kernelled corn
3/4 can black beans (or whatever beans you want)
vegetable mix (I used a small bag of frozen beans, peas, carrots)
a couple spoons of butter
a little bit of grated cheese

1.) boil, then mash the potatoes. Add a bit of butter or margarine when you’re mashing to make them creamier.
2.) in a bowl, mix together all the vegetables. Then put them into some kind of baking dish.
3.) Layer mashed potatoes on top! Cook for 15 mins at 350F, then add the cheese on top. Cook 15 mins longer and it should be done!
4.) Eat! mmmm. I put Montreal steak spice on it and it was delicious. Next time I make it, I am going to add some crumbled tofu to the veggie mix.

mmmmm

mmmmm

If anyone makes this, let me know how it turned out, if you added anything super delicious, etc.

2 thoughts on “recession food – shepherdess pie

    1. oh, you should! it’s really quick. It took me like 1/2 hour to whip it together in the afternoon and just put it in the fridge till I was ready to bake it at suppertime.

Leave a Reply

